Meet the Team

Meet the Team

Our conference is run by a dedicated team consisting mostly of volunteers. This page outlines the folks who are helping get things done, and what their roles are.


Swapnil Ogale

Swapnil initiated Write the Docs in Australia in 2016. He is fortunate enough to live in one of the world’s most liveable cities - Melbourne, Australia. While he is not travelling, trying out new food or building a mini library by visiting bookshops and fairs, he works as a technical writer at Amazon Web Services Australia.

Jared Morgan

Jared has been a Technical Writer for about 17 years now. When he’s not helping organisations plan and deliver documentation as a product, he co-hosts the Write the Docs and BlahCade Pinball Podcasts, and restores pinball machines to their former glory.

Samuel Wright

Sam has been organizing Write the Docs conferences for even more than a few years now. He lives in Berlin unless he’s off to a conference or death metal festival somewhere. Sam works at EngFlow, and is into making computers do the boring bits of writing docs so he can work on the fun bits.

Felicity Brand

Felicity has been working as a technical communicator for 15 years. Based in Melbourne, Australia, she loves working in open source because it lets her work with writers and non-writers all over the world. Felicity is a keen knitter, crocheter and loves anything to do with yarn.

Jennifer Appleby

Jennifer has spent most of her working life as an IT geek in different forms. While she has been writing technical docs for most of those years, she has only been claiming the title for the last ten focusing on enterprise software. She spends far too much time sitting in front of a laptop, but sometimes manages to get out of the house to take in Melbourne’s galleries, markets and musicals.

Primary Roles

You can read descriptions of all the roles in our Event Roles doc.

  • Conference chair - Swapnil Ogale
  • Swag coordinator - Mikey Ariel
  • Speaker wrangler - Swapnil Ogale
  • Infrastructure chair - Samuel Wright
  • Lightning Talk coordinator - TBA
  • Communication chair - Swapnil Ogale
  • Writing Day coordinator - Felicity Brand
  • Volunteer coordinator - TBA
  • Sponsorship - Swapnil Ogale
  • Unconference coordinator - Jennifer Appleby
  • Emcee - Jared Morgan
  • Welcome Wagon coordinators - TBA
  • Social media chair - TBA